Home to one of the largest pressed glass water pitcher collections as well as the Lambton furniture collection.
Established to preserve and interpret the history of Lambton County, visitors can explore many unique stories. Exhibits include Northern Navigation, Doherty Stoveworks, Dutch and Slovak immigration, local history, and so much more.
In Ontario at the turn of the century, many families joined together in co-operative groups to oversee the slaughtering and distribution of fresh meat. The Springvale Beef-Ring Association was formed in 1911 near Thedford. This slaughterhouse was built in 1917 by the association’s third butcher, John Watson. The Springvale Beef-Ring ceased operation in 1956 and this building was moved to the museum in 1978.
Ravenswood Blacksmith Shop
This building, built in the late 19th century, was moved to the museum in 1983. The front section was originally the Palmer Carriage Shop until 1920, when it was used as a farm blacksmith shop on the Williamson farm at Ravenswood. The carpenter/wheelwright section at the rear was a general purpose building on the farm of Paul Backx.
Transportation & Agricultural Buildings
These two large buildings hold an extensive collection of agricultural machinery, tools, wagons, etc. Many were manufactured locally in Lambton County. Also on display is a rare, recently restored, horse-drawn ambulance, made by Petrolia Wagon Works and used in Lambton’s oil fields over 100 years ago.
On August 5, 1867, the congregation of northeast Euphemia decided to build a church. The land was donated and $200 was quickly raised for its construction. The name Cameron was selected in honour of the missionary serving the congregation at the time. In 1999, after over 130 years, the Cameron Church was officially closed and the following year, it opened at its new home at the Lambton Heritage Museum where it continues to provide a picturesque setting for small weddings.
S.S. No. 4 Brooke was first opened in September, 1899 in the crossroads community of Rokeby, between Alvinston and Watford. Over the years, the school was the scene of many social gatherings, garden parties, picnics, ball games and entertainment for the farming families of the area. It was relocated to the museum in 1990, years were spent restoring it and it officially opened in1998, almost 100 years after it was built.
This tiny house was one of the first homes in the area, built near Thedford in 1857 by Daniel Tudhop for him and his mother. In 1879, this house became part of a larger brick house which was destroyed by fire almost 100 years later. In 1978, the original Tudhop home, undamaged by the fire, was moved to the museum.